Greenville Concealed Carry Course Outline:
A. Students handgun safety check
B. Student information sheet
C. About the instructor
A. Legal Issues
1. When the use of deadly force is justifiable
2. When deadly force MAY NOT be used
B. Prohibited carry areas
C. Written test on Laws regarding use of force in North
Carolina ( 16 true/false, 4 multiple choice)
D. Hand guns
2. Parts of the gun
1. Components of a cartridge
2. Types of bullets
F. Fundamentals of shooting
G. Handgun Safety and Presentation Techniques
H. Cleaning and securing your gun
I. Live firing on the range
1. Range safety
2. Qualification fire
3. Scoring the target
Issue certificates and farewells
The class is taught in a modern classroom environment.
-Class begins at 8:00 AM ends between 5 - 5:15 pm
-All money for drinks and snacks and The North Carolina Concealed Handgun Training booklet is donated to Down East Wildlife Rehabilitation Center .in Grifton,N.C.
-Pre-registration is REQUIRED. The registration fee is $25.00. This can be paid by money order, cashiers check or personal check (Please make check payable to Greenville Concealed Carry, P.O. Box 1684, Greenville, NC 27835). Sorry, no credit/debit cards accepted. Include a contact number and the date of the class you wish to attend. If you want a special Sunday class and are willing to be on the waiting list, or you have an entire group, please indicate this as well.
-This registration fee is NON-REFUNDABLE. When your registration is received, you will get a confirmation call. $80.00 is due on the day of class. Gun and ammo will be included in cost.
-Greenville Concealed Carry recommends that you practice with your hand gun on a regular basis to improve your skill and accuracy.
Cindy Scoring The Targets
STUDENTS WILL NOT NEED TO BRING THEIR OWN GUN. A SHOOTER FRIENDLY GUN WILL BE FURNISHED BY US ALONG WITH PRE-LOADED MAGAZINES.
Qualification Course of Fire
Target: Police B27 Silhouette
Safety glasses and hearing protection supplied.
YOU will shoot:
10 rounds at 3 yards
10 rounds at 5 yards
10 rounds at 7 yards
No time limit restrictions.
Listen and follow range officers commands.
State law requires a student to score 70%
If a student fails to qualify, he or she is allowed ONE re-shoot at the next scheduled class date.
Students of Greenville Concealed Carry qualify on a private range approximately 4 miles from Greenville, this range is NOT open to the public.
GREENVILLE CONCEALED CARRY DOES NOT OFFER A RANGE TO THE PUBLIC. WE SHOOT ON A PRIVATE RANGE USED ONLY FOR OUR CONCEALED CARRY STUDENTS TO QUALIFY ON. IF YOU WISH TO PRACTICE ON YOUR OWN, WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND PARADISE RANGE, DETAILS BELOW.
The only public pistol range in Pitt county is located at the Paradise Hunting Preserve, owned and operated by Randy Adams. It is located off Hwy 43 South of Greenville, on Bill Adams Rd. (Left just before you get to intersection of NC Hwy 102.) The cost is $25 per person per visit. Yearly memberships available.
Range is open 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM Mon - Sat, Sunday 12:00 Noon till 6:00PM
Paradise Hunting Preserve
3993 Bill Adams Rd.
After receiving your certificate you can apply to the sheriffs office in the county you reside. The Sheriffs office charges $90 for a criminal background check and mental health check. If you are approved, your permit will be issued in 4 to 6 weeks. It is the applicant's responsibility to know if his or her criminal and mental history allows them to qualify for a North Carolina Concealed Carry Permit.
The permit is a little larger than a drivers license with no picture. It is valid for 5 years. As of January 1,2010, the sheriff\'s office is required to send you a renewal notice. The notice will be mailed to the address listed on your permit, so if you move contact the Sheriff's Office with your new address You must appear at the county sheriff's office and pay $85 renewal fee.
38 other states have reciprocal agreements with North Carolina to honor North Carolina Concealed Carry permits.
******* NO MORE PISTOL PERMITS ********
Under North Carolina Law, the holder of a valid North Carolina Concealed Carry permit can use this permit to purchase hand guns in the state of North Carolina. Obtaining a purchase permit is no longer required.